top of page
  • Writer's pictureTravelling Trilby

Thank you 2018, next

Updated: Jan 13, 2019

2018 was a lonely year for me. It was my first full year apart from university and close friends. Moving from city to city from time to time can be hard, especially when you're on your own. I mean, I like travelling, but moving is a whole different story. It's not something you bear for 2-3 weeks, but a minimum 6 months stay and adapting yourself to new environment and new society.


The first 3 months of 2018, I lived in Karawang. Finally getting a grip on how to survive the environment, built relationships & daily routine, then suddenly I was moved to Surabaya. Surabaya was challenging at first. I never lived so far from home before with no friends or relatives nearby. Adjusting myself again to the work environment, becoming stranger and knowing people. However, within those struggles, I managed to find my life savior.


After months of not having new skills, I found a new hobby which suits me: SALSA

Founding the community on the premise 'I need to do something new with my life'. I found Surabaya Salsa Community from Instagram and curiously approach them whether a newbie could join. And it was the best decision of my life last year.


Surabaya Salsa Community

My only regret was knowing these people only for the last month of my stay in Surabaya. I never knew that I will be moved again in so fast, so the Salsa only last for a month. But it has been a highlight of my 2018.


… (to be continued, will write summary of my travels, I'm sleepy)


New year, New Resolutions. I don't usually do that, but I want to change how I treat myself in life. I am serious about setting my goal on creating more content and keep myself creative. So, to welcome 2019, hereby I am officially launching my blog website for Travelling Trilby.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page